Manage your subscription.

Subscription: YesNo

MAY 2010

WAMi winners for 2010

WAMi Craft Awards categories were announced Monday 17 May at The Rosemount Hotel, North Perth.
All other awards were announced at the WAMi Awards night, Thursday 20 May at Capitol, Perth.

Congratulations to all who were nominated and this year's prize winners.

Public Voted Awards

Most Popular Act
Presented by The Department of Culture and the Arts

Birds of Tokyo - winner
Sugar Army    

Most Popular Live Act
Presented by X-Press Magazine

Boys Boys Boys!
Karnivool - winner
Sugar Army
Tomás Ford
Most Popular Music Website
Presented by City of Perth - winner

Most Popular Album
Presented by triple j

Eskimo Joe - Inshalla
John Butler Trio – April Uprising
Karnivool – Sound Awake - winner
Sugar Army – The Parallels Amongst Ourselves    

Favourite Newcomer
Presented by RTR FM

The Jackards
The Joe Kings - winner
Tim and Jean
Most Popular Music Venue
Presented by the Western Australian Museum

Amplifier Bar - winner
Mojos Bar
Rocket Room
Rosemount Hotel

Most Popular Single / EP
Presented by PerthNow & Moshtix

Eskimo Joe – Foreign Land
French Rockets / Injured Ninja – 12” Split + DVD - winner
John Butler Trio – One Way Road
Umpire – Streamers    

Most Popular Music Video
Presented by Empyrean Northbridge

Blac Blocs - NVDA - winner
Brash and Sassy – No Milk For You
Injured Ninja – IDDQD
Sugar Army – Tongues in Cheeks    

Most Popular Music Event
Presented by Sonicbids

Big Day Out (Perth)
In the Pines
Soundwave (Perth) - winner
St Jerome’s Laneway Festival (Perth)

Industry Voted Awards

Most Promising New Act
Presented by Peel Music Foundation

Boom! Bap! Pow!
Emperors - winner
Goodnight Tiger
The Joe Kings

Best Live Sound Engineer
Presented by Kosmic XPD/AVID Venue Console

Dave Carter - winner
Ian Stewart
James Newhouse
Rene De Vries

Best Record Producer / Engineer
Presented by SAE

Al Smith
Dave Parkin - winner
Max Ducker
Rob Agostini

Indigenous Act of the Year
Presented by ABMUSIC

Moana Dreaming
Peter Brandy
Yabu Band - winner

Best WA Based Record Label
Presented by AIR

Firestarter Music
Good Cop Bad Cop - winner
Jarrah Records
Walking Horse

Media Award - Individual
Presented by The Cake Factory

Aarom Wilson
Bob Gordon
Dave Cutbush - winner
Mike Wafer

Media Award - Organisation
Presented by Diskbank CD & DVD
RTR FM - winner
The Drum Media
X-Press Magazine

Management Award
Presented by EPRA

Jodie Regan
Laith Tierney
Philip Stevens
Steph Edwardes - winner

Golden WAMi
Presented by City of Perth

Aarom Wilson
Andrew Ryan
Dave Cutbush
Peter Barr - winner

Best Male Vocalist
Presented by Devilles Pad

Brendon Humphries (The Kill Devil Hills)
Ian Kenny (Birds of Tokyo, Karnivool) - winner
Pat McLaughlin (Sugar Army)
Will Stoker

Best Female Vocalist
Presented by Music Feedback

Abbe May - winner
Felicity Groom
Hayley Beth
Novac Bull (Boom! Bap! Pow!)

Best Guitarist
Presented by Cut & Paste

Andrew Ryan (Adam Said Galore, Felicity Groom & the Black Black Smoke, Fall Electric)
Drew Goddard (Karnivool)
Jay Marriott (The Novocaines)
Luke Dux (The Floors, Timothy Nelson & the Infidels, Will Stoker & the Embers) - winner

Best Bassist
Presented by WAM

Anthonny Jackson (Birds of Tokyo)
Cameron Hines (Mile End/Mongrel Country)
Ian Berney (Sugar Army)
Ryan Dux (The Floors, The Kill Devil Hills, Will Stoker and the Embers) - winner

Best Drummer
Presented by Berklee Music

Adam Weston (Birds of Tokyo) - winner
Ben Stacy (Tangled Thoughts of Leaving)
Jamie Sher (Sugar Army)
Matt Maguire (Schvendes, Adam Said Galore)

Best Instrumentalist
Presented by WAM

Alex Archer (The Kill Devil Hills, Abbe May, Felicity Groom and the Black Black Smoke) - winner
Chris Cobilis (The Tigers, The Sabre Tooth Tigers, smrts)
Glenn Sarangapany – (Birds of Tokyo)
Tristan Parr (Schvendes, Fall Electric)

Best Electronic Producer
Presented by Twin Cities FM

Tomás Ford - winner
Trilby Temperley (Cloud Kollectiv, She Selexx)

Best DJ
Presented by The Drum Media

Charlie Bucket - winner
Rex Monsoon

Best Rock Act
Presented by The Drum Media

Sugar Army
Tame Impala
The Kill Devil Hills - winner

Best Commercial Pop Act
Presented by Sony Music

Boys Boys Boys!
Eskimo Joe - winner
Tim and Jean

Best Indie Pop Act
Presented by Rusty

6s + 7s
Boys Boys Boys!
Felicity Groom and the Black Black Smoke - winner

Best Hardcore / Punk Act
Presented by

Break Even
Chainsaw Hookers
Project Mayhem - winner

Best Hard Rock / Metal Act
Presented by WAM

Chaos Divine
Eleventh He Reaches London - winner
The Devil Rides Out

Best Blues / Roots Act
Presented by Clancy’s Fish Pub

Abbe May - winner
Blue Shaddy
Cal Peck and the Tramps
The Kill Devil Hills

Best Funk Act
Presented by WAM

Boom! Bap! Pow!
The Brow Horn Orchestra - winner
Sneaky Weasel Gang

Best Jazz Act
Presented by Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance

Adam Hall and the Velvet Playboys
Jamie Oehlers Quartet
Johannes Luebbers Dectet
The Graham Wood Trio - winner

Best Country Music Act
Presented by Boyup Brook Country Music Club

Connie Kis Andersen
Jane Germain and the Yahoos
The Fancy Brothers - winner
The Jayco Brothers

Best Urban Hip Hop Act
Presented by APRA

The Typhoons - winner

Best Electronic Act
Presented by WAM

The Transients
Tomás Ford - winner
Voltaire Twins

Best World Act
Presented by Braziliano

David Hyams and the Miles To Go Band
Grace Barbé - winner
Ziggy New Generation

Published by David | May 2010 | Tag : News | 1 comments


DiskBank Overview

Perth, Sydney Australia

1300 66 38 22

Australia Wide

GreenpowerEco Packaging